Click Here & Subscribe to our Youtube Channel



Fargot Password? / Help
Ram Baran Yadav


1. Ram Baran Yadav (रामवरण यादव; born 4 February 1948) is the President of Nepal.

2. He was elected in July 2008 and is the country's first President. He served as Minister of Health and as General Secretary of the Nepali Congress party.

3. Yadav contested the Dhanusa-5 constituency in the April 2008 Constituent Assembly election. He won the seat, obtaining 10,392 votes.

4. Yadav was elected as the first President of Nepal in a second round of voting on 21 July 2008. He received 308 out of the 590 votes cast in the Constituent Assembly,[8][9] defeating Ram Raja Prasad Singh, who had been nominated by the Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist), in a second round of voting. Yadav was sworn in as President on 23 July 2008.

5. Ram Baran Yadav was born to Thani Yadav and Ram Rati Yadav on 4 February, 1948 at Sapahi Village Development Committee (VDC) Ward No. 9, Dhanusa district of Nepal. He qualified as a doctor and married the late Julekha Yadav. Yadav has two sons and a daughter.

Political Career

1. Yadav began his political career while studying medicine in Calcutta, India.

2. He came in contact with several Nepali politicians who had self-exiled themselves in India, such as B. P. Koirala, Ganesh Man Singh, Subarna Shamsher Rana, Pushpa Lal Shrestha, and Saroj Koirala.

3. Inspired by these leaders, Yadav started engaging himself in politics actively.

4. He championed the cause for multi-party democracy during the referendum held in 1980.

5. While practicing as a physician for several years, he engaged himself in politics as an active cadre of the Nepali Congress Party.

6. He was rural private practitioner for several years as well as a personal physician to Koirala; the first elected Prime Minister of Nepal, from 1980 to 1982.

7. Yadav participated in the struggle for democracy for several decades.

8. He spent nine months altogether in prison during the course of the struggle.

9. After the restoration of multiparty democratic dispensation in Nepal in 1990, he spearheaded his political career with increased vigor and vitality.

10. Yadav was elected twice as a Member of the House of Representatives from the Constituency No. 5 of Dhanusa district of Nepal.

11. He became the Minister of State for Health from 1991 to 1994.

12. He again took charge of the Ministry of Health as the Cabinet Minister from 1999 to 2001.

13. Yadav was elected as a Member of the Constituent Assembly from the same constituency of Dhanusa District during the elections held on 10 April 2008.

14. Yadav discharged various responsibilities in the Nepali Congress Party.

15. He was a member of the Central Working Committee for 15 years, and also a member of Parliamentary Board, and member of the Discipline Committee of the Party.

16. Before being elected to the President, he was General Secretary of the Nepali Congress Party.



One comment

  • Visit site
    October 4, 2013 3:11 pmPosted 10 years ago

    please include the name of siddaramaiah, the current chief minister of karnataka in the drop down list of politicians.

    browse for details.



Leave your comment

Your Name: (required)

E-Mail: (required)

Website: (not required)

Message: (required)

Anti-Spam Quiz: