Click Here & Subscribe to our Youtube Channel



Fargot Password? / Help
Dimple Yadav


1. Dimple Yadav is an Indian politician from Uttar Pradesh.

2. She is the wife of Akhilesh Yadav and daughter-in-law of Samajwadi Party leader Mulayam Singh Yadav.

3. Dimple was born in 1978 to retired Indian Army Col SC Rawat at Pune. Her family is originally from Uttarakhand. Dimple grew up in Bhatinda, Pune, Lucknow, Andaman and Nicobar.

4. While studying humanities at Lucknow University in late 1990s, Dimple met Akhilesh who had just returned from Australia after studying marine engineering.

5. Dimple and Akhilesh were married on November 24, 1999 in a grand ceremony at Lucknow attended by top politicians, film stars and celebrities like Amitabh Bachhan and Rajesh Khanna.

6. The couple has three children i.e. 10-year-old daughter Aditi and six-year-old twins Arjun and Tina.

7. Dimple is a talented painter and voracious reader

Dimple Yadav's Political Career

Dimple-wife-of-Uttar-Pradesh-Chief-Minister-Akhilesh-Yadav-at-the-swearing-in-ceremony-of-her-husband-in-Lucknow1. Dimple Yadav unsuccessfully contested by-election Firozabad Lok Sabha seat in 2009 against actor turned politician Raj Babbar. Rahul Gandhi himself campaigned for Raj Babbar.

2. The Firozobad seat had been won by her husband Akhilesh Yadav in the May 2009 general elections by a margin of 67,301 votes against Bahujan Samaj Party candidate SPS Baghel.

3. Akhilesh Yadav who also won from Kannauj vacated Firozabad Lok Sabha seat leading to by poll.

4. She was elected unopposed from Kannauj Lok Sabha seat in the by-poll election in 2012, after her husband vacated the seat to enter the Uttar Pradesh legislative council.

5. Dimple Yadav, became the first woman elected unopposed in a Lok Sabha by-election from Uttar Pradesh and second candidate in the entire State after Purshottam Das Tandon's election from Allahabad West in 1952.

6. She was elected unopposed from Kannauj Lok Sabha seat after two candidates, Dashrath Singh Shankwar (Samyukt Samajwadi Dal) and Sanju Katiyar (Independent) withdrew their nominations. Earlier BSP, BJP and Congress had not fielded their candidates against Dimple Yadav.



Leave your comment

Your Name: (required)

E-Mail: (required)

Website: (not required)

Message: (required)

Anti-Spam Quiz: